History of St Laurence
This has been a place of Christian worship for many hundreds of years. The present Church building dates back to about 1250, but it has been altered and extended many times through the centuries.
The Church once had a thatched roof and on the east face of the bell turret the marks of the original roof are still visible. The bell is dated 1778. The walls were extended upwards when the present roof was built, hence the rows of brickwork at the top of the south wall.
There are thought to be about 26 lead covered fonts in England and this is thought to be the only one in Norfolk. It dates from the late 13th century and is unique in showing images of the crucifixion around the outside.
The figures above the rood screen were designed and made by a former resident of Brundall, John Rowbottom of the Norwich School of Art and dedicated in 1959, in memory of Duncan MacNaughton-Jones and Mina Groves.
The clock is thought to be about 200 years old and may once have hung in a local pub to remind drinkers of the time.
The Church is dedicated to St Laurence who according to legend was martyred by being tied to a grid-iron and burned over a fire. There is a small brass of him on the north wall of the chancel.